Lightroom is the de facto standard for photo processing and management across most computing platforms. Sure, there are alternatives but they’re not as good, and comparatively few people use them. That’s why it’s a big deal when Adobe produces a Lightroom update that deletes photos, which is what it did in the latest version of its iOS app. Adobe says it fixed the issue, but the data is gone forever.
Lightroom has been available on desktop computers since 2007, but the mobile apps came about in just the last few years. The mobile app on iOS and Android is surprisingly powerful with many of the same features for editing and managing photo libraries that you’d get with the full version. In fact, many people who do all their photography on smartphones will use the Adobe mobile app exclusively. They might not do that anymore, though.
Adobe recently rolled out v5.4 on iOS, but upon updating, many users found their photos and personal presets were missing. Several of them have posted online about spending hours talking through the issue with Adobe support only to be told their data is gone forever. For some people, that could be years of photos stored in their mobile Lightroom libraries — all gone. If you’re not deep into photography, you might not know paid Lightroom presets are a thing. Well, they are, and those were deleted by the latest update, too. One user said he spent several hundred dollars on presets that have now vanished.
Did anyone else lose all your @Adobe @Lightroom photos and presets with their last update?! 😭 This is literally the worst. I lost 800 pictures and all my paid presets (which are worth hundreds of dollars.) All they have to say is we apologize. 🤯 pic.twitter.com/5xGsJ3nEaR
— Lauren Lambert (@llambert89) August 20, 2020
Adobe acknowledged the issue about a day later and issued an update on the App Store that fixes the bug. However, that won’t restore the lost data. Adobe did point out that any files backed up to its online storage system were unaffected. That’s small comfort for people who were not using Adobe’s cloud.
All Adobe has offered for the inconvenience is your standard corporate apology — if you lost anything of value, that’s not Adobe’s problem. Users of Adobe’s software accepted its terms and conditions that absolve the company of any responsibility. It bears mentioning that you should always back up your data. But at the same time, an established company like Adobe should not release an app update that nukes all your local data.
- Hands On With Adobe’s Updated Photoshop and Camera Raw
- Adobe Unleashes Flurry of Creative Cloud Features at its MAX Event
- Adobe’s Big Push: Make Lightroom Easier to Learn and Use